THE 3 D’S

Dealing with disappointment, discouragement and depression can be really difficult. Our lives are filled with these, but we also have joy, excitement, surprise, love, accomplishment and happiness. We really don’t have to think much about what to do with these positive emotions. It’s much harder to know what to do with disappointment, discouragement and depression. I’ve had to deal with all 3 of these and I’ve learned over the course of time, that you can let these 3 D’s take over your life or you can be proactive and plan for these things to happen. I have depression and take medicine for it and I want you to know that depression is a chemical malfunction, so I’m not saying, as so many people do, to just stop being depressed and be happy! I understand that is not possible if you have depression. With that said, there are things we can do to help ourselves with the 3 D’s. One thing that you can do, is to “stay positive and know what your happiness triggers are.” by Andy Andrews Simple everyday things in their lives that make them happy. Everyone has things in their life that make you smile or feel better. Spending time petting my cats brings my blood pressure down and I enjoy it. Another thing that we can do is to have something in the future that you can look forward to. For example, a trip that you’ve wanted to take, a movie that you’ve wanted to see, dinner out instead of cooking at home, spending time with family, etc.

As a christian, I can spend time in prayer and reading the Bible. Listening to christian music is also encouraging. I, personally keep a prayer list and a list of prayers that have been answered and how and when. I do this to remind me of the faithfulness of God, so when the 3 D’s come, it’s easier to find encouragement! I’ve also found that if I reach out to others in need, at a time when I’m down, it gets my mind off of my problems and makes me feel good that I’ve helped someone else. In Matthew 19:26, in the New International Version Bible, it says, “Jesus looked at them and said, “with man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.” This verse is a great reminder of what we can do with God. I know that in life, there will be times when these tips won’t take the pain away and that is normal.

An entrepreneur has to deal with the 3 D’s often, but we can do things daily that will help. Read and listen to encouraging stories and inspirations everyday. Stay in touch with other entrepreneurs, so that we can encourage one another and also know that we’re not the only ones feeling the same way. Step away from the computer or your business activities for a short time and do something else you enjoy. Talk to others, who are successful and you will probably find that they went through and still go through the 3 D’s.

So, let’s control how the 3 D’s affect us and not allow them to control us.

The3Ds

2 thoughts on “THE 3 D’S

Leave a Reply

