#Read about Guest #Author Allie Potts

Excellent post on what not to say to a writer!

Chris The Story Reading Ape's Blog

Allie Potts 02

The hashtag, #TenThingsNotToSayToAWriter trended on Twitter. I suspect that most of my non-writer friends missed the vent-fess, therefore missing out on some valuable tips as to what not to say when someone introduces themselves as a writer.

To summarize the majority of them fell into one of five categories:

  1. What’s your real job?

  2. Your book sounds just like X I just read.

  3. Are you (or someone else we know) the main character?

  4. When will it be published?

  5. I would write a book if I only had that kind of time.

I am guilty of saying most of these at least once, as they all seem like the subject of innocent small talk until you actually try to write and publish a book. I have a full-time day job as well as well as two boys, one of whom is still being potty trained. When I tell people I’ve written two…

View original post 1,174 more words

One thought on “#Read about Guest #Author Allie Potts

Leave a Reply

